Writing Isn’t Always Easy

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned before that I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. I write for school, I write stories, I keep a journal, I have this blog. There is a lot of writing in my life and it’s something that I’m definitely comfortable with. I understand how to weave a story and how to put words together so that they make sense. For me that’s not hard. Actually putting it into practice sometimes is.

You would think that after all this time it would be easy. Get an idea, sit down and write. It certainly sounds simple enough. But I often find it isn’t that easy. I find that I spend a lot of time staring at a blank page wondering what word to put on the paper first. Because the fact of the matter is, the blank page is still a scary thing. (Not as scary as the seagull that stole my hotdog yesterday though.)

But even though the blank page is a scary thing, I continue to write. It’s something that I love to do and something I can’t imagine my life without. So I continue to write and I continue to struggle with the blank page. Chances are, for as long as I write the blank page will continue to scare me just a little. But so long as I don’t ever let it stop me permanently, I think everything will be OK.

BrittanyM

Leave a comment