Loving My Internship

Since starting college I’ve had three different internships. I’ve worked at New London Main Street (a nonprofit organization), I worked with the Connecticut Writing Project and this summer I’m with the Mystic River Press. And every internship has been spectacular. I’ve been lucky in that all my internships have involved writing, but I’ve gained different skills from each of the internships. I’m hoping that one day all of these skills will come together to help me secure a “real world” job. But the experience I’m gaining now is invaluable and I’m so glad to be getting it.

What makes my internship this summer extra special is that it’s local. Even though all my internships have been local, my internship with the Mystic River Press is all about reporting on Mystic/Groton based news. I couldn’t get too much more local if I tried. I love being able to report on what’s going on where I live, and knowing that the people who live here will read it.

So far my internship experiences have been fabulous and I can only imagine what the future will hold. Hopefully more absolutely wonderful things.

BrittanyM