My Writing Process

I feel that I so often have to say this, so I’m sorry if you’re tired of hearing it. I might have already written about this topic. If I did, I’m sorry. If you already read about this and don’t want to read it again, that’s OK. But tonight I’ve chosen to write a little bit about my writing process.

Step 1: The truth of the matter is, there is no definite step one. Sometimes an idea magically comes to me. Sometimes I’m inspired by a picture. Sometimes I’m inspired by something that I’ve read or seen. Sometimes I play the word association game and see where that takes me.

Step 2: After having an idea there are two options. I can flesh it out a little bit so I have an idea of where I’m going. Or I can jump in and write and see where that takes me. Neither option is the wrong one. It depends on the idea, how strong it is, what I think the correct choice is.

Step 3: This part is easy. I write.

You might expect that I would have elaborated more on Step 3 or that more would follow after Step 3. The truth is that for me it’s easier to come up with an idea than to follow through on one. I get distracted and move onto another idea. And I’m awful at the revision process. I tend to write things and then just file them away. It’s a habit that I need to somehow move past, but that hasn’t happened yet.

The truth of the matter is, the writing process is different for me every time with every story. Sometimes I think an idea out in my head. Sometimes I really plan it out. Sometimes it’s based around a list of words. Sometimes it’s inspired by an image. There is no right or wrong way to write a story. My process is ever changing, and I don’t think the process is the crucial part. I think that what’s important is to write. To write every day if possible, and as often as possible when it isn’t.

BrittanyM

Leave a comment