Human Evolution

We as humans are constantly evolving. We learn things, go places, see things, form relationships, get hurt, learn from our mistakes, make new mistakes, do our best and are always changing. That’s just how being human works. We would be boring if we constantly remained the same, and life isn’t about being boring. It’s about learning and evolving and changing and becoming the awesome people we are meant to be.

To me, part of this process is the parts of ourselves that we leave behind in places. I know that when I graduated from high school I left a part of myself there. I liked high school. And I made great friends there, and I evolved a lot as a person. It would have been impossible for me to not have left a tiny part of myself there when I left. And then when I went to UConn I absolutely left a part of myself there when I graduated. At UConn I grew up, began becoming an adult, continued putting together who I wanted to be as a person. I love the person I worked on becoming while I was at UConn, and when I left a part of me stayed in Storrs. And then this year when I went back to my old high school to do my internship I grew and evolved again, this time as a teacher and as a professional. I learned so much about the type of person I want to be and the type of teacher I want to be. And then when I left at the end of the school year I left a part of myself behind as I moved forward into the next stage of my grad school career.

I think that if we didn’t leave tiny parts of ourselves behind we wouldn’t really be evolving. The parts we leave behind are memories of who we were and of who we became. And we can refer back to them to track that journey as we move forward in life and maybe need some reassurance or just to renew our faith that we are evolving and becoming the individuals we want to be. Because we are evolving as people, all the time, every day, with every decision that we make. And that’s good. That’s what we’re supposed to be doing. Just remember to enjoy the journey and learn from it at every step and turn.

BrittanyM

Leave a comment