What I’ve Learned From Blogging

I’ve had this blog up and running for almost two years now. I haven’t always posted regularly, but I have posted every month since the first post. Recently I’ve begun scheduling my posts in advance so that you, my lovely readers, aren’t left hanging, and that seems to be working nicely for me. There’s posts that can be counted on, and then when I have some extra time I can write about other things. I’ve also been inconsistently keeping a notebook with ideas for blog posts, and every once in a while I add something to it or draw from it when I need an idea. And in writing this post I found the title of “What I’ve Learned From Blogging.” And it made me think. Now, almost two years after starting this blog, I manage this blog and another one. I blog on a semi-regular basis. And I have to have learned something, right? The question is, what have I learned?

  • Consistency is key. I do find that when I blog consistently, people come and read my posts consistently. When I go through spells where I’m not writing consistently, people don’t come and check on the blog.
  • Write about what you know and love. There are definite themes in my blog posts, and I think that helps. It gives me consistent things to write about and it gives you, my readers, something(s) consistent to come and look for. I write a lot about grad school, my time at UConn, time spent with my family and friends. These are things I know and love. So I share them with you.
  • There’s something really wonderful about writing. To be honest, I already knew this. I’ve loved writing for a very very long time, long before this blog existed. And I’m sure, should this blog ever end, that I’ll still love writing. Blogging has given me a new creative outlet which I absolutely love. It allows me to write for an audience which is one of the coolest things I’ve done in a long time. It lets me connect with people, and it lets friends I don’t see often know what I’m doing. For me, writing is really wonderful and empowering and special. Blogging has confirmed this for me.

I think that’s the end of my list for now. For my fellow bloggers out there, what have you learned from the blogging experience? Let me know in the comments!

BrittanyM