Wrapping Up Summer

This is my last week of summer. Next week I have class, and the week after that I start my internship. I’m excited for all of this, and I think that it’s all going to be wonderful. I’m especially excited for my internship and for going to work at my old high school. I think that it’s going to be such a great experience, and that I’m really going to learn a lot.

But before my fall adventures can start, summer has to end. That sounds a lot sadder in writing than it did in my head. But at the same time it’s true. Normally my birthday signifies the end of summer because it’s at the end of August. But this time, I think that my class signifies the end of summer, and my birthday signifies the end of the in-between period.

With my last few vestiges of summer, there are some things that I want to try to fit in. They’re things that I try to do all the time, but I know that it might be harder once my classes and my internship are going on. Here they are:

  1. Read. I love to read. I always have. I just went to the library today and checked out 5 new books. I can’t wait to read them and be swept away in their stories.
  2. Spend time with family and friends. It’s not that I don’t spend time with family and friends. I’m always trying to spend time with family and friends. But I want to get some quality time in now before we’re all so busy. I especially want to spend some time with one of my nearest and dearest friends who’s moving to Brookline in a couple of weeks.
  3. Take time to write. I always try to write. Sometimes I’m better about it than at other times. Lately I’ve been good about blogging and about writing in my journal, but I haven’t been as good about writing stories and poems. All the different types of writing are important, but I want to try to fit them all in in more balance.
  4. Appreciate the little moments. This is something that I really want to work on. I often get swept up in the chaos and everything that I have going on. It’s easy to get swept away with my classwork and my to do list and things that seem important and sometimes are but sometimes aren’t. I want to take the time to appreciate the little moments – a good joke, a pretty sunset, car rides with my family, a good cup of tea. I want to take time to NOT be swept away in the chaos of every day life.

What about you? Do you have any special way that you’re wrapping up summer?

BrittanyM

Leave a comment