Love of Fairy Tales

I think I’ve mentioned this before (I’m actually fairly certain that I have) but I really love fairy tales. I’m not just talking about Disney fairy tales. Those will always and forever have a special place in my heart, but they also just sort of skim the surface of fairy tales. They’re wonderful and happy and brilliant, but they’re just one piece of the puzzle.

Lately what I’ve really been into is more modern fairy tales. I love retellings of the classic tales, or tellings of the tales from different points of view. At the end of the month Malificent is coming out and I’m so so excited. The trailers have looked really fantastic, and I love that the tale is being told from a different perspective. I love that they’re working on telling the same story but in a really different way. Perspective is everything when it comes to storytelling, and different perspectives can really change the way a story is seen.

I also think that the original fairy tales, the ones with a little more grit, sometimes aren’t given enough credit. Happy tales are great, but there’s nothing wrong with a little grit and unpleasantness.

Really I’m just on a big fairy tale kick, and I wanted to share with you guys.

What’s new with all of you?

BrittanyM

Leave a comment