Writing is Hard

I think that people sometimes forget how hard writing can be. Writing sounds glamorous and like it’s lots of fun, and sometimes it is. Actually, a lot of the time writing is fun, and it should be. As an author writing should be fun. Authors should love their characters and want to spend time every day with them. If you don’t want to spend time with them then something definitely needs to change.

But as fun as writing is and should be, sometimes it’s really hard. Sometimes I don’t know what to write, where the story should go, or how to write the scene that’s in my head. I spend a lot of time staring at a blank screen wondering what to do next, wondering if what I’ve written is any good.

I spend an equal amount of time flitting between ideas, because I don’t know where an idea should be going so I move onto something else. There are a lot of ideas floating around, and someday I hope to finish the all.

End of the day lessons? Writing is hard and writing is fun.

BrittanyM

Leave a comment